People who lived in the previous years from Milat believed much about things like magic, fortune telling. These beliefs were the greatest factor in directing their lives. Their religious sensitivities were mixed and varied. It was supposed that they were a separate god of every useful and beautiful thing. For example; Sea God Poseiden, the god of love Eros, Wine God Bacchus “Dionysos”, Light and Sun God Apollon. People in this belief generally lived around the Aegean Sea. On that day’s terms, they were highly developed in art, in trade and culture. They built large cities such as Troy, Bergama, Ephesus, Priynton and Milet in places close to the sea for convenience of transportation. Apollon Temple in Didyma was also built to meet the wishes of finding out about the future of Miletus city and the other local people 20 km north. The greatest city of Ionia was called “DİDİYİMİON” to the Temple of Apollo built by Milet in Didyma. The writers of the early ages can not give the full name of this name. But there are those who say, “Twin Temple, or the name of the Temple of the Twins, should come from two mountain tops or gods Apollo’s favorite twins.” As a matter of fact, French historian Charles Texsier states that in those days, it is now called “Didymeion” on two parallel tapers in the place called “Tek Tekçe” muhiti. This ancient Apollonian temple belonging to the Archaic period was visited by many monarchs, even by the King of Lydia Krezüz. Persians in BC At the end of the attack on Anatolia in the 5th century, Dara “DARİUS” destroyed this temple along with the city and took the bronze Apollo statue inside it with many prisoners. After the attack and destruction, the ruined remains of about 150 to 180 years, the rebellion began as the great Alexander’s victory against the Persians, as we have seen today.
Didyma Apollon The construction work of the temple is kept very large. Panienie Mileti Dephnis, who recreated the Artemis Temple burned in Ephesus as an architect, is appointed. When the temple is finished, it will be the eighth wonder of the world. The construction work lasts for many years, and in the meantime, Milet’s treasure is also quite shaken. Even masters and workers who work in the construction of the mabed do not work for a while because they can not get their wages. In a sense, history is the first strike. The written documents related to this subject were found in the excavations made in Milet in recent years. Despite all these difficulties, the construction of the mabed M.S. II. It was tried to continue until the mid-century. But what has happened over the past centuries has been that beliefs have naturally changed over time, for example the Christian religion declared by Jesus was adopted by the people of Didyma. Therefore, God Apollon was forgotten and the temple, which was being built to continue its construction, lost its former significance. The construction was left unfinished despite the efforts of the Roman kings. The last workmanship of some of the walls, the shaving of some of the stones, the uneven formation of the high single column seen on the sunny side indicate this. The Didyma – Didyma Temple was built on a most suitable area. It has been devised to have a resilient grid plan on its base, with 124 pillars (to retain the roof) around it. The height of the columns is 19.4 meters.
Didyma Apollon The most interesting aspect of the Mabdi Mabedin is the monumental gate with a threshold of 1.45 meters. Surrounded by single piece marble blocks on the right, on the left and 7 meters in length on the floor and weighing approximately 60 tons, this giant threshold is not made due to architectural necessity. This was the role of the religious opinion at that time. According to the belief of the ages, they could not enter the folk who came to worship, they would gather around the front of the window. But the priests and the Apollo culture-related priests entered the mosque. XV. An earthquake and fires that broke into the end of the century destroyed and destroyed the mosque to a great extent. Travelers and archaeologists have remained in ruins for many years, this building XVIII. They have started to take care of it after a century. It was first started by the British in 1858 to work on the word of God mentioned in the writings of travelers such as Nevton and C. Texier for the first time. In 1872, the Frenchman, Thomas and Rayet, worked in the temple. The systematic excavations were started in 1904 by the Germans on behalf of the Berlin Museum. The famous archaeological excavations of this excavated Prof. It continued until 1913 under the presidency of Theodar Wiegan. In the years 1924-1925, the Germans again worked in the temple and took the spectacular view of the river. The collective results of this excavation were published in 1941 by HI Kneckfusa in a book called “Didyma”. In recent years, Professor of German Archeology. In the presidency of K. Tuchelt, work was started again in the temple. As a matter of fact, at the end of these studies, the remains of the “Sacred Way”, which is known to exist, have been brought to light. This sacred path is between the temple and the port of Panormas where this present Mavişehir is located. For prayer and some desires, they come to the land at Panormos Port and 4 km. The marble “decorated with lions and Branhid sculptures around the” Biblical Road “reached the Temple on foot. It is almost impossible for those who visit the Didyma Apollo Temple, which has been enlarged as much as possible and enlarged the borders of the Altinkum coastal settlement, to imagine the beauty of that place once remained on a remote corner. The Temple of Apollo and its immediate surroundings, recently requested by official authorities to be lifted again by the “Old Glory”, are so impressive that it can not be compared with any other place. Theodor Wiegand in the name of Königlich Preussischen Museen zu Berlin, then Martin Schede in the beginning and Klaus Tuchelt in the excavations in 1972, the example of which preceded the milestones in the 4th century and which was supported by Alexander the Great. Columnar drums were used to investigate various structures for visitors to the sanctuary and sanctuary outside the temple. In this context, a sacred avenue that has been connecting important commercial centers Miletus and Didyma since the Archaic period has also been investigated. This 26-kilometer ritual route was separated by rest stops equipped with large sculptures, and since the empire, at least the last part has been painstakingly stone-paved and had columns with galleries. This sanctuary, which is known to some extent until now, should be perceived as a programmed whole, like a city.
Didyma Apollon Temple In the late 19th century, just above the temple, there was a large church, usually abandoned with the temple materials used, abandoned day by day and had a village of Romans. The highest point of the ruins was the most suitable place for a windmill that was characteristic of such settlements and extremely delicate alongside the gigantic parts of the temple.19 Despite the excavations of British and French researchers several times over the course of the 19th century the dimensions of this gigantic structure, But after 1906 it emerged with excavations carried out with great technical difficulties. In addition, the emergence of detailed plans drawn on the surface of the walls discovered in 1979 also excited the great excitement. Work initiated by Andreas Furtwangler in 2003, aimed at understanding the early periods of the sanctuary, and at the same time the work of repairing and restoring the work immediately after the creation of the works is continued. In addition, in order to protect the existing architectural fragments and to maintain the impressive appearance of the temple, marble pieces which are damaged from fires are carefully repaired and the collection of the façade is continued with fine works which require very long time.