Alanya is an excellent holiday center with its extensive beaches, historical monuments, countless fish restaurants of modern hotels and motels, cafes and bars. It is the first Selçuk Kalesi dating from the 13th century, which was built as a crown on the Alanya Peninsula
and welcomes its guests. In addition to its impressive façade, the unparalleled shipyard and monumental beauty of the octagonal Red Tower
is worth seeing. The cafes and bars surrounding the harbor are in the evening, along the harbor road, there are boutiques selling handicrafts, leather, clothes, jewelery, handbags and water pumpkins decorated with interesting colors unique to the region.
If you like exploring caves you should visit Damlataş Cave. Near the cave is the Ethnographic Museum. You can reach three sea caves by boat: Phosphorous Cave with phosphorus rocks, Girls Cave and Aşıklar Cave where pirates hold female prisoners. 15 km from Alanya. The Dim Age Valley is the ideal place to relax in the coolness of the shadows. Alanya, which can be reached from all the coasts, is a perfect sun, sea and sand paradise.
HISTORY RED TOWER
The Liman. After a long siege lasting for five years, Sultan Alaaddin Keykubat took over Alanya and gave the order to build the red kulin to protect the Alanya shipyard. The red tower is the most important city brand representing Alanya. It was printed on the banknotes of TL 250.000. The octagonal structure of the city, symbol of the 13th century construction, is one of the unique examples of Seljuk art. It was built in 1226 by Ebu Ali Reha el Kettani, a Halepli building master who built Sinop Castle by Seljuk Sultan Alaaddin Keykubat. Since it is difficult to remove the stone blocks after a certain height during construction, the upper part is made of red brick, which is why it is called Kızılkule. On the walls of the tower there are marble blocks from antiquity. Each wall is octagonal and each wall is 12.5 meters wide and its height is 33 meters and its diameter is 29 meters. It has five floors, including a floor. On top of the tower is an elevated stone stair with 85 steps. It is known that the cut stones located at the bottom of the wagon are brought from the east of the Dim Strait. There is a height difference of two meters between the eastern face and the west face as the Red Tower is located. As you ascend, you can watch the environment through the loopholes. The top floor is open. When you look down, you will have the opportunity to watch the elevations, the towers, the harbor, the impressive view of the five-eyed shipyard and the eastern part of the city, interspersed with the city walls all around the peninsula.
The sunlight from the hill leads up to the first cave. There's a cistern in the middle of the house. The tower was built to protect the port and the shipyard against attack from the sea and was used for military purposes for centuries. During the construction of the Ancient Age, the reclaimed material was used. The perforations in each of the hundreds, the observation windows, the pitches in the enemy, and the pre-drilled holes that serve to cast boiling water give the structure a distinct beauty. Restored in 1950, the tower was opened in 1979 and the first floor was transformed into the Ethnographic
After you have left the Red Tower, follow the path along the ramparts, and when you get off the stairs you will arrive at the shipyard in about 200 meters. The shipyard, which symbolizes the first encounter of the Seljuks with the Mediterranean, stands firmly with all its splendor within the integrity of Alanya Castle. Alanya Shipyard is accepted as the first organized shipyard where the Turks were founded. This shipyard was built by Sultan Alâddin Keykubat in 1228 two years after the Red Tower. With this endeavor, the Sultan has realized the desire to become "Sultanbulahren" (Sultan of two seas) by countering the threats that may come from the east. The shipyard is 56.4 meters long, 44 meters deep and has five eyes. Each eye is 7.70 meters wide, 42.30 meters deep. The difference of 1.70 meters in depth is due to the thickness of the walls. The inscription on the entrance door carries the Sultan's dress and is decorated with rosettes. One side of the shipyard has a mosque and the other has a guardhouse. One of the eyes also has a well-blinded pit in time. We can see the same book that has the same characteristics of the day as when we came to the center of the door and raised our head up. Now go down the steps from the door a little more carefully and go to the first eye. Let's go through the other eyes, the same eye that we gave the measurements above, and get out of the small door in the southernmost part of the shipyard. This is a rocky place. When we lift our heads to the west and up, we will see the Shipyard Tersane Tower, which is responsible for guarding against the forces that might come from the south of the Shipyard built from cut stone. This tower is two storeys. There are two rooms on the lower floor towards the sea. From these rooms a window opens to the sea and the land. From here a narrow gate is used to pass the hall and then to the room on the left side. The upper passageway out of the small passage over there. When you go upstairs, you will see different rooms in the lower quarters. The large cistern that the water supplies of the tower guards at the time provided is used even today. Its construction date is 1228 according to the current book. The Tophane, which is believed to have been built to secure the shipyard, has a two-storey rectangular plan measuring 14 x 12 meters. This structure is the work of Sultan A. Keykubat.
At the end of the shipyard, there is a Tophane built to protect the ship from 10 meters above sea level. It is known that in 1227, a three-storey, rectangular-shaped structure built of cut stone and pitched for war ships at the same time. The work of the Shipyard and Tophane is being carried out by the Ministry of Culture and the Alanya Municipality to transform it into a Maritime Museum.
On the tip of the peninsula are structures on the Cilvard's nose, which consists of steep rocks measuring 400 meters in length. Despite being referred to as "mint" among the public, it is not possible to print money in buildings built of cut stone. One of the stone constructions dating from the 11th century is a small church, and the others are likely to be used as monasteries. The dome of the little church is standing. There is also a cistern on the rocks. Although there is a road with steps carved from the Inner Castle for the community of Cilvarda's tombs, the road is unavailable today. The exit from the sea is difficult and dangerous. When it is seen from the Inner Castle, there is an impressive image, when the boat revolves around the sea.
The road extending from the gate to the gate of the gate is relatively well preserved. This road, which is curved up on a steep slope in the south west of the toe gate, must be the oldest road of the castle. This road which witnessed many beautiful historical events for centuries It will carry you to the peak of your stay in a short time to amaze you.
Alanya Castle, which has been permanently settled throughout history due to its difficult accessibility from the sea and land; It is one of the best preserved of hundreds of residents of Anatolia that survived today. It is located on the peninsula rising up to 250 meters from the sea. The settlement on the Alanya peninsula, also known as Kandeleri, is a work of 13th century Seljuk which is a historical texture that has been going down until the Hellenistic turn. The castle was built by the Seljuk Sultan Alaaddin Keykubat who took the city in 1221 and rebuilt it. The castle has 83 towers and 140 burcu. In the middle ages, the city was settled in the city walls and nearly 400 cisterns were built to supply water. The Selçuklu Devri water cistern made of bricks in the central part of the interior continues to function today. The walls were constructed in such a way that Ehmedek, İçkale, Adam Atacağı, Cilvarda nose, Arab Houses Burcu and Esat Burcu descend to reach Tophane and Tersane in Kızılkule. At the summit of the peninsula, there is an open-air museum. Sultan Alaaddin Keykubat built the palace here ... The main structures in İçkaleden were built on the walls of the castle on the other fronts except the west. The residential settlement at Kalede continues today. In front of wooden and pagan historical houses, silk and cotton weaving are done on wooden benches, water pumpkins are painted in different figures and authentic food service is given in small gardens. In recent years, Turkish scientists have been making archaeological excavations in a large group of buildings extending to the southeast corner. Recent findings show that this place may be the Sultan's palace. The other building group you can see while visiting today is thought to be military barracks, dormitories and warehouses. It is possible to get out of two ways. One from the bazaar, just behind Kuyularönü Camisin and the other from Damlataş Cave. The second road is a little steep and twisty. It is useful to choose the first way out at the exit to use it. If you are going to get out with taxi or taxi, you should walk in turn and enjoy the castle cruise. There are also restaurants and cafeterias on the road leading to the hill and on the dominant slopes of the lima. The castle is open to vehicle traffic. Walking can take approximately 1 hour. Ehmedek'in a path or back to the top of the asphalt road from the top of the Inner Castle is exiting. Entrance to Inner Castle is paid. The entrance gate opens wide courtyard.
One of the important points in the interior is the Adam Atacağı Kulesi. Go up the 250 meter high tower from the sea and play a game. Take a stone, hold your hand and intention. If the stone reaches the sea, you will be accepted. It is not known that you can reach the stone, but it is rumored that a similar game was played on prisoners during the Roman period. If the prisoners were given three stones in their hands, they would get rid of one of them if they reached the sea, if they could not, they would be thrown into the sea with catapults. The name of the man named Atacağı comes from this narration.
The castle is 6.5 kilometers long and the Alanya Castle is on the cliff rising 250 meters from the sea. The settlement in the Alanya cliff, also known as Kandeleri, is the 13th century Selçuklu artifact, which has been inhabited since the Hellenistic turn. The castle was built by the Seljuk Sultan Alaaddin Keykubat who took the city in 1221 and rebuilt it. The castle has 83 towers and 140 burcu. In the middle ages, the city was settled within the city walls and nearly 400 cisterns were built to supply water. Some of the cisterns are still being used today.
It is in the castle, near the Süleymaniye Mosque. It is thought that it was built as a bazaar or inn during the 14th or 15th century Karamanoğulları period. It has a rectangular plan with cut stone ... It has 26 rooms and it has a courtyard with a length of 13 meters and a length of 35 meters. The historic building is now being used as a hotel, restaurant and cafeteria ... The medieval shops opened as a courtyard are arranged as hotel rooms. In the garden part there is a large cistern that goes down by stairs. The view of Bahçenin is dominated by the fortress walls above, the Mediterranean below and the sandy beach and the Toros mountains. Bedesten can be visited with permission from the operator.
The fortress was rebuilt as a "central fortress" during the Seljuk period instead of the small fortress remaining from the Byzantine period on the northern slope. It is understood that the entrance gate was built in 1227. The name is thought to have been obtained from the construction master "Ehmedek" of the Seljuk era. The middle fortress, which consists of two sections with three towers, is in a strategic place against land attacks and at the same time it is in a position to protect the inner fortress of the palace of the Sultan. The walls of the towers of the so-called towers were cut from the rocks during the Byzantine period. Three cisterns in the middle are still used today. There are pictures of ships from the Seljuk period on the castle walls.
During the reorganization of the city by the Seljuk Sultan Alaaddin Keykubad, it was built in the peak part of the castle in 1231, just outside of İçkale. However, the mosque was demolished in the following years and rebuilt in the 16th century during the Ottoman period by Suleiman the Magnificent. The monumental mosque is known as Alaaddin, Kale or Süleymaniye. The structure is rubble stone and square plan. On the octagonal pulley there is a tiled dome. In order to provide acoustics to the portion of the cube that assumes the hanger function, 15 small cubes have been placed. This feature emerges during worship. The last congregation site is covered with three tiled dome on four feet. Door and window covers are a good example of the wood carving work of the Ottoman period.
A small Byzantine church bumps into the center of the house, which proves that the very early days of the construction of the castle are also being used. Moreover, the fact that the church can be kept up to date is proof of the respect that the Seljuks show to those who are of different faiths and their places of worship, and in this context they are structures that need to be further protected. Alfalfa leaf plan. A wide pulley of round arched windows and deaf niches surrounds the dome. The fact that the church is adorned with frescoes is evident today. Due to architectural features, XI.
It is located in Hıdır İlyas within the boundaries of Hacı Mehmetli Village, 10 kilometers away from the center of Alanya. The church, which is supposed to have been built on a slope overlooking the Mediterranean at the beginning of the 19th century, is now being used for worship by Christian and Muslim wanderers. The church is a rectangular plan with a roof, a stone wall and a small apse. Inside the church there is a mezzanine with wooden decoration. The fresco on the walls is broken. It is understood from the book that Kilisen was repaired in 1873. The inscription displayed at the Alanya Museum was written in Turkish (Karamanlıca) with Greeks abecesi. The church was closed with the arrival of the Orthodox people living in Alanya and speaking Turkish in 1924 in Greece. The name of the Hıdrellez Church with its water supply is the Church of Agios Georgios. The similarities of Kilisen are also found in Kaleici, Antalya. Entry to the ruins is free.
COLONOROS IN ISLAMIC ROTATION
During the raids of the Islamic State against all the Roman cities, Kolonoros maintains its independence because of the difficulty of its withdrawal. Some historians suggest that the Arabs came here, even the Sitti Zeynep tomb as a work that proves this claim. In this clemen, they claim that the turban belongs to Zeynep, grandson of Hazrat Hussein. Some of the grandfathers of Hazreti Hussein's name is not one of the name Zeynep; They say that this zaviyesi, which was established by the Bektashis during the Ottoman period, is based on a fictitious personality and Hazrat Ali. However, there is the fact that the Seljuks, who benefit from the anxieties of the Byzantines in these seas, will make it easier for them to take Kolonoros. Since the Seljuks have taken over Antalya, they take action to bring this important palace, which is difficult to take, into their territory, since they think that the Mediterranean domination is only possible with the seizure of Kolonoros. Ertokuş Bey, who was assigned to the administration of Antalya, started preparations for taking Alanya with the order he received from the Sultan upon transferring this situation to Sultan Seljuk Sultan Alaüddin Keykubat. The army takes the road and Kolonoros comes to the front and sets up the headquarters. The attack plan is prepared in line with Sultan's orders and the castle is besieged. First, the castle commander Kir-Fart is informed about the surrender of blood without spilling blood. Kir-Fart, who immediately confronts this monster, resists attacking for two months. Sultan Alaüddin Keykubat, who has been in despair of being unable to obtain a result from the siege and attack for two months, begs Allah by opening his hand after a night prayer. That night, the Sultan saw a person with a light face in his dream and said to himself: "It is very difficult to get into this place and get in. Never a war will happen, but God is your help, He hears. The Sultan wakes up with joy on this and immediately invites the statesmen to the meeting. Everyone admits this dream as a glad tidings of victory. On the order of the Sultan, a hundred head oxen, a thousand head sheep and eleven dirhams are distributed to war volunteers and the poor. By making the final preparations of the whole army, Allah will be attacked with great voices. The fortress commander Kir-Fart understands that there is no warfare force in the face of this great attack, and he sees that there is no other way but to surrender with his relatives. On top of that, they want to inform Antalya Beyi Mübariziddin Ertokuş that they will surrender if they are not harmed by mediating their neighborhood relations. After Ertokuş Bey tells the situation to the Sultan, the necessary guarantees are given with great pleasure. In this situation Kir-Fart, who is at least as happy as the Sultan, greets the Sultan by opening his doors to the end with his own hand. The Sultan also gives him a town in the Konya region, where he lives there until the end of his life. The daughter Hand (Mahperi Sultan) is also the wife. According to a custom, the Sultan orders that when he finds out that he can not stay with these soldiers after a long siege like four months, he must collect and bring all the felons in his place to his men. One night, the gathered keçilerin horns attached to the breezes, fire, the soldiers want to attack the doors of the castle with the voice of Allah. Kir-Fart, who looks at the rush of the guards against this big crowd, orders the opening of the castle doors by understanding the situation. After victory Sultan Alaüddin Keykubat also changed the name of Kolonoros to Alayia in his own name. While the army headed towards .Antalya with great enthusiasm, today it is 35 km to the city center. The Sultan who came to the front of the Alara Castle in the distance, orders this castle to be immediately included in the Seljuk border. Kir-Fart's brother, the castle commander is told by the ambassador of his brother's ambassador. Upon this news, the castle commander who was piled up on the spot was killed. The rest of them would not want to surrender. In fact, eleven years later, on the Sultan's command, a large caravanserai was built on the skirts of this castle immediately (Alarahan). The taking of Alanya by Alaüddin Keykubat was the beginning of the brightest periods of the Seljuks. The great works of Alanya and its environs are the most beautiful and masterful works of art, and these great works, which can not be worn out even for centuries and which we can call the unique wonders of the world, are still standing upright. Alayiye, who had been a fan of Seljuks for many years, After the weakening of the Seljuks in the mid-19th Century, the same sultan goes to the hands of the Karamanoğulları. Today, many works worthy of the Seljuks and the Karamanoğulları remain in the Oba and Gülevşen regions, still with their old grandeur.
ALAIN (ALANYA)'S BY THE OTTOMANS
The taking of Alia by the Ottomans took place in the time of Sultan Mehmet the Conqueror. In the time of Fatih, this beautiful town is in the hands of Kılıç Aslan Bey, the son of Karamanoğlu Lütfü Bey, who comes from the Seljuks dervishes. A commander named Rum Mehmet is conquered on Fatih's orders. Greek Cypriot Mehmet and Kılıç Aslan are in the state of unclean-beech, so no conclusion can be reached. Gedik Ahmet Pasha, who has risen up to three pilgrims from the janissary army, is given this duty. In 1471, Gedik Ahmet Pasha included Alanya in the Ottoman territories without persuading Kılıç Aslan Bey. Later, Kılıç Aslan Bey, the children assigned to him from Gümülcine, a hunting on the pretext of fleeing children to Egypt soon to die. Even in the weakest periods of the Ottoman Empire, this beautiful city, where no enemy has set foot, has made great services to the empire not to be forgotten with famous people. The Janissary Corps, founded in the time of Murat I, bested the state until the 1596 Hussar War and ran out of victory to bring our borders to the widest possible extent. The Janissary Corps, which began to deteriorate since the Hague War, III. Until the time of Selim, a growing problem became a problem. The governor, who was the leader of the Nizam-i Cedid army, who assumed the idea of establishing a new era, printed the golden pages on the name pages of Alanya, Abdurrahman Pasha, the son of Kadı Mehmet Efendi from the grandmother of Sheikhulislam Minkarizade of Alaiye, was a kadi in Kayseri , Ali Efendi, a public servant in Konya Bozkır, killed Ali Efendi and plundered all his possessions and captured his caravans. Abdurrahman Pasha, who heard this painful news, resigns from his position and comes to Seydisehir with permission from Babiali to get his uncle's revenge. The sultan also walks on the Steppe with the bullfight and lifts the slaughter of his uncle in the middle and thus the rebellion against the state is thus suppressed. The Sultan is summoned by the Sultan and congratulated. This success of Abdurrahman Pasha was also the success of the newly established Nizam-i Cedid army. Abdurrahman Pasha, III. Selim is killed by the newcomers and Alemdar Mustafa pashes out to Istanbul in a rush on the new Prayer Assistance movement of Pasha. He fights against the newcomers fearlessly, then returns to Alaiye. But since the Nizam-i Cedid is from the founders of the army, it is besieged by the newcomers, after six months of resistance, the head is cut and circulated in the streets of Istanbul. Then, with the abolition of the Janissary Corps by II.Mahmut, the spirit of this visionary, eye-catching, bold Turkish child, brought up by Alaiye, was fulfilled. Alaiye adorned with numerous works in the Ottoman period, a telegram drawn to the Great Leader Atatürk, mistakenly written in the name of Alanya instead of Alaiye, Atatürk said, "Since then, this is the name of this charming belden Alanya."
There is no definite information about the first settlement of Alanya, which is a tourism paradise with its historical richness and natural beauty, taking the names "Coracesium - Calonoros - Alaiye - Alanya" in history. The human skeletons and the fossils found in Kadi İni Cave in 1957 constitute a boundary between the village of Bademagaci and Oba Village which falls in the northeast direction of the district center. Alanya, which has such a rich history, is sometimes referred to as Pamphylia and sometimes Klikia. Historian Herodotus wrote that various tribes living in the region came here after the Trojan War (BC 1820) and were hosting the settlers. Hittites came to the region BC. XIV. It is known that in the first half of the century, they killed about six thousand people and attached Klikia and Pamphylia to them. Pamphylia is a word that means "multi-racial, multi-sexual". The efficiency of these lands has attracted most attention to the past and kept them in this region. Coracesium countered the attack in 1979 BC although the whole Klikia was invaded by the Roman Emperor Great Antiochus III between BC24-188 BC. It maintains its independence and cause with the difficulty of being besieged and taken. Coracesium, Diodotos becomes a place that raises fear around the hands of a pirate head named Tryphon, or even confronts the Kingdom of Syria. In order to further strengthen himself, this pirate regime has pulled a thick wall with large stones without mortar, from the place where the Arabian marriage is today to Ehmedek (Ahmedek). They used this cave, now called Girls' Night or Pirates Cave, as a robbery store. At that time, the Roman empire, a powerful state, had leaked as much as the shoreline of the Roman Empire, and went so far as to ransom them. For this reason, the inability of anyone to open the sea has caused the Roman cities to suffer from food difficulties. This pirate reed is destroyed during a battle opened by Antiochus III in1993 with the thought of the people being rescued from this trouble.
Over time, the pirates became more fearful in the Mediterranean, and the Roman empire waved Antonius with large powers (103 BC). Although the borders of the Roman Empire extended during the Antonian period, pirates trying to reach their former powers plundered many cities and towns along the Mediterranean shore, and even kidnapped Antony's daughter, who was assigned to annihilate them. The Roman Empire, who believes that the robberies must be finalized, will now appoint Pompeus from the powerful commanders of the army. In the year of the cruel attacks of land and sea (67 BC), Pompeus abandons the pirates who have been fearful in the Mediterranean for years, The Roman Empire, which literally owns this region, leaves the territory of Klikia to Antonius after the death of Cesar. Octavius, a rival, declares war on Antony. It defeats Antony and Cleopatra's armies in Greece and seizes the region. During the Antonius and Cleopatra periods, the trees used for shipbuilding were supplied from this area. Money was printed in the period of Emperor Traianus in Alanya. Calanoros Castle was built here by taking advantage of the remains of Coracesium in the Middle Ages. After the Romans, Alanya, which was in the hands of the Byzantines, took the name of Calanoros at that time. With the Pamphylia and Klikia regions, the church took its place in the Kalenin after Christianity arrived. This region, which does not have strategic importance, is declared a bishopric center as the religious importance increases. It maintains its independence due to the difficulty of taking the Calanoros fortress during the raids of the Islamic States against the Roman cities. The Seljuks; After taking Klikia (Antalya); Considering that the Mediterranean sovereignty will only be possible by the conquest of Calanoros, they will take action to bring this land, which is very difficult to take, into its territory.
Ertokus Bey, who was assigned to the administration of Antalya, prepared an attack plan and surrounded it. After Kalenin has resisted the attack for two months, the castle commander Kir-Fart, who understands that he has no power to make war, surrenders with his relatives. In 1221 he opened his doors to the castle with his own hand and greeted the Sultan. After the capture of Sultan Alaaddin Keykubat's city, the city is called Alaiye. When the army headed towards Antalya, the Sultan who came to the front of the Alara Castle ordered this castle to join the Seljuks. Alaaddin Keykubat's reconstruction makes the city so beautiful that Alaiye is being used as a winter capital by the Seljuk Sultans. The shipyard and the shipyard of the shipyard Red Crescent are built during this period. Alaiye XIII who had been a soldier for many years in the Seljuks. YY. After the weakening of the Seljuks in the middle of the same sultanal of the Karamanoğullarının passes. It was later ruled by Alaiye Beyleri, who belonged to the Memluks between the years 1293-1471.
The taking of Alaiye by the Ottomans took place during the reign of Sultan Mehmet the Conqueror. During the reign of Fatih, Alaiye Karamanoglu is the son of Lütfü Bey and Kılıç Arslan Bey. Upon Fatih's command, a commander named Rum Mehmet is assigned with Fatah. But this commander can not be successful. This time the task is given to Gedik Ahmet Pasha. In 1471, Gedik Ahmet Pasha included Alaiye in the Ottoman territories through convincing Kılıç Arslan Bey. After this period, zoning studies of the Ottomans begin in and around Alaiye Castle. Alanya, which was connected to the province of Cyprus with Tarsus in 1571, became a sanjak of Konya province in 1864. It was bound to Antalya in 1868 and later became a county of this province in 1871. Already developed as a Turkish city since 1221, Alaiye has been enriched by the traces of Turkish culture. It is known that the name of the city Alaiye has been pronounced as Alanya between the people since at least 200 years and it is known that the name is Alanya in many tombstones and inscriptions related to those periods and it is known that the official name of the Alanya name is Atatürk, It began with the writing of Alanya in a telegram drawn from Alaiye and a page from Coracesion to Alanya was completed in history.