The Amasya Museum was first established as a storage place in the Beyazit Medrese in 1926, and in 1961 was moved to its present location in the Gok Medrese Mosque, and opened to the public. The Seljuk period Gok Medrese Mosque was built under the orders of the Governor of Amasya, Seyfeddin Turumtay in 1267, It has three naves covered with a vaulted roof of fifteen sections. The central nave’s second arch is roofed by a star-shaped vault, at the center of which is a dome covered by a pyramid-shaped roof. It has no minaret. The first nave of the Gok Medrese Mosque contains archaeological works arranged in chronological order. This section includes pots, bowls, statues, grave steles, water jars, glass and metal objects, ornaments, and medallions from the Old Bronze Age, Hittite, Roman and Byzantine periods. In the showcases in the second and third waves, are inscriptions, gravestones, written works, weapons, ornaments, coins and medallions, embroidered towels, napkins, purses, and apparel, seals, copper kitchen utensils, carpets, lecterns inlaid with mother of pearl, wooden vessels, and other ethnographic objects dating from the Seljuk and Ottoman periods. Among the most interesting things on exhibit at the museum are the mummies dating from the Imperial period.